The Grey Electorate

Grey includes the South Australian electorates of Flinders, Frome, Giles, Narungga and the majority of Stuart and part of Taylor

Grey is one of 10 seats in South Australia

It covers 92.4% of South Australia.

Grey covers an area of 908,595 square kilometres which stretches from the Gawler River south of Two Wells and the bottom tip of the Yorke Peninsula to the Anangu Pitjantjatjara Lands (APY Lands) reaching to the Northern Territory, Western Australia, Queensland and New South Wales borders. Grey is the fourth largest electorate in Australia.

The cities of Whyalla, Port Pirie, Port Augusta, Clare and Port Lincoln are in the division. Towns stretch from Penong and Ceduna to Coober Pedy, Marree, Oodnadatta, Marla and Innamincka in the far north, Jamestown and Eudunda in the mid north, Maitland and Kadina on the Yorke Peninsula, the Clare Valley, Dublin and areas extending to just south of Two Wells.

The division was named after Sir George Grey (1812-1898), Governor of South Australia from 1841-1845.

Products and Industries of the area include broad-acre agriculture and pastoral grazing (wheat, wool, sheep cattle etc), mining (copper, silver, iron ore, gold & uranium) heavy industry (lead smelting, steel making), fishing (Port Lincoln has the largest commercial fishing fleet in the southern hemisphere), oil, gas, opals, wines, aquaculture, salt production and horticulture.

Federal Electorate of Grey

Click on map to download a PDF of the Federal Electorate of Grey.

The People

At the 2022 election 123,812 people were enrolled to vote in Grey.

History of the Electorate

Grey became an electorate in 1903. Rowan Ramsey was first elected as the Federal Member at the November 2007 election.

Previous Members for Grey were:

  • Mr B Wakelin (LIB) 1993-2007
  • Mr L O’Neil (ALP) 1983 – 1993
  • Mr L Wallis (ALP) 1969 – 1983
  • Mr D Jessop (Lib) 1966 – 1969
  • Mr J Mortimer (ALP) 1963 – 1966
  • Mr E H D Russell (ALP) 1949 – 1963
  • Mr A Badman (UAP/CP) 1937 – 1949
  • Mr P McBride (UAP) 1931 – 1937
  • Mr A Lacey (ALP) 1922 – 1931
  • Mr A Poynton (ALP) 1903 – 1922