90 sec Anzac Day Schools Award Crystal Brook

Mr RAMSEY (GreyGovernment Whip) (13:41): I'm very pleased to take this opportunity to congratulate the Crystal Book Primary School on winning two prizes in the 2017 Anzac Day Schools' Awards. The school has displayed great initiative and creativity in the way it commemorates Anzac Day, helping students to understand more deeply the significance of our wartime history and the sacrifices of those who served. Crystal Brook is a beautiful little town on the southern edge of the Flinders Ranges, and the primary school has 186 students, so it's a reasonable size and a very successful school. A group of upper primary school students created the Anzac committee to focus on remembering the local fallen in World War I and Anzac Day commemorations.

The coordinator, Davina Bellman, said she was delighted the school had been recognised in the awards for the second time. These students spent many lunchtimes researching the history of the Anzacs and the Gallipoli campaign. From this they established a list of 31 local fallen soldiers from World War I and gathered photographs of most of them. The committee decided to create a memorial garden where the names of the local fallen would be on an engraved path. It's a place of remembrance, and a place for the school and the students to reflect. I congratulate them on winning the award and on their commitment to making sure that we never forget the service of those who have gone before.

Contact Me

Electorate Office Port Pirie
Street Address:
104 Ellen Street
Port Pirie SA 5540

Local Call: 1300 301 742
Phone: (08) 8633 1744
Fax: (08) 8633 1749

Postal Address:

PO Box 296
Port Pirie SA 5540

Electorate Office Whyalla

45a Playford Avenue
Whyalla SA 5600

Local Call: 1300 301 651
Phone: (08) 8645 4255
Fax: (08) 8645 5933

Electorate Office Kadina
43 Taylor Street 
Phone: (08) 8821 4366